Russia
There is no Russian counterpart to AidData's project-level record of Chinese finance. Russia reports totals, not projects, to the OECD, and nothing to IATI. What is on record is narrower, and this page holds all of it: what each African government owes the Russian Federation, year by year, from the World Bank's debt statistics; the four energy assets in Global Energy Monitor's trackers with a Russian vendor or shareholder; the 15 countries with a Rosatom agreement; and the Bank of Russia's thin table of investment stocks, which blanks out the countries that matter. Everything else is press, and is listed as press.
The sources agree on one picture. Egypt's El Dabaa nuclear plant is almost the whole of Russian official money in Africa this decade: a USD 25 bn state export loan signed in 2015, drawing down since 2019. Soviet-era claims of about USD 15.6 bn in 1991 were written down to USD 0.45 bn by 2011; the stock has climbed back to USD 4.49 bn at the end of 2024, and Egypt owes 91% of it.
World Bank International Debt Statistics to 2024, release of 3 Dec 2025, fetched 14 Oct 2026 · Global Energy Monitor trackers 2026-08 and 2025-11 · World Nuclear Association profile read 7 Oct 2026 · Bank of Russia table updated 17 May 2023
- 34
- African governments with debt to Russia or the USSR on record, 1991–2024
- USD 4.49 bn
- owed to Russian creditors at the end of 2024, Egypt 91% of it
- 13
- new Russian loans since 2000 to 9 countries, USD 26.2 bn, of which El Dabaa USD 25 bn
- 4 + 15
- energy assets with a Russian role in GEM's trackers, and countries with a Rosatom agreement
Where it is on record
Sovereign debt is drawn at each country's interior point, sized by the latest stock owed to Russia; hover for the loans behind it. Energy assets sit at their GEM coordinates in the map's status colours. Nuclear agreements and corporate holdings are country-level only, and the holdings, which rest on press reports, are off until switched on.
Countries whose last reported balance predates 2020 are drawn at that last figure. The map's own lender filter does not carry Russia: the records here are country-year balances and agreements, not projects, and are kept off the project map on purpose.
Africa's debt stock owed to Russia, 1991–2024
Public and publicly guaranteed debt, current USD, summed over 34 countries. World Bank International Debt Statistics, counterpart “Russian Federation”.
Who owes Russia now
Stock at the latest reported year, USD million. Countries whose last report predates 2020 are marked with the year and drawn lighter.
Sovereign loans: World Bank International Debt Statistics
The IDS publishes every low- and middle-income borrower's external debt by individual creditor, from the borrowers' own reporting to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. The Russian Federation is counterpart 087; the USSR, for claims made before 1992, is 078. For each African country and year it gives the stock owed, new commitments, disbursements and repayments, from 1970 to 2024. It is open (CC BY 4.0), machine-readable through the same World Bank API the map's other fetchers use, and refreshed every December.
What it cannot say is what a loan paid for. The purpose column below is filled only where a public source says so: El Dabaa, Angola's satellite. It also sees only sovereign and sovereign-guaranteed borrowing, so Rusal's mines, Lukoil's blocks and VTB's 2013 loans to Mozambican state companies are invisible here.
| Country | Owed to Russia, latest | of which bilateral official | Year | Peak stock | Peak year | Russian loans since 2000 and what is known of their purpose | Soviet-era claim, peak |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Egypt | 4,082.2 | 4,082.2 | 2024 | 4,082.2 | 2024 | 2015 · USD 25,000.0 m: El Dabaa nuclear plant: a USD 25 bn Russian state export loan covering 85% of the plant's cost (Africa Center for Strategic Studies; GEM) 2019 · USD 85.3 m: not stated in the IDS | 406 |
| Ethiopia | 162.2 | 162.2 | 2024 | 5,693.6 | 1992 | none | 5,676 |
| Guinea | 139.5 | 122.9 | 2007 | 429.2 | 1991 | none | 455 |
| Zambia | 124.8 | 124.8 | 2024 | 442.1 | 1998 | 2001 · USD 0.7 m: not stated in the IDS 2011 · USD 99.2 m: not stated in the IDS 2018 · USD 322.3 m: not stated in the IDS; Rosatom's contract for Zambia's Centre for Nuclear Science and Technology was signed in May 2018 (SAIIA) | 314 |
| Mali | 114.9 | 114.9 | 2008 | 592.1 | 1992 | none | 415 |
| Uganda | 85.7 | 10.8 | 1992 | 85.8 | 1991 | none | 86 |
| Benin | 54.9 | 54.9 | 1999 | 54.9 | 1991 | none | 55 |
| Mozambique | 52.0 | 52.0 | 2024 | 797.4 | 1995 | 2013 · USD 143.9 m: not stated in the IDS; press reported a 2013 agreement converting Mozambique's USD 144 m debt to Russia into development projects | 1,079 |
| Republic of the Congo | 31.9 | 31.9 | 2024 | 379.4 | 1995 | none | 376 |
| Nigeria | 19.9 | 19.9 | 2005 | 891.8 | 1995 | none | 856 |
| Burundi | 16.4 | 16.4 | 1994 | 16.4 | 1991 | none | 23 |
| Côte d'Ivoire | 15.5 | – | 2024 | 61.4 | 2020 | 2020 · USD 114.1 m: not stated in the IDS | – |
| Angola | 12.0 | – | 2007 | 4,599.0 | 1994 | 2011 · USD 278.5 m: Angosat-1 communications satellite: USD 278.5 m, 13-year loan from Roseximbank, VEB, VTB and Gazprombank (RussianSpaceWeb; Telecompaper) | 4,491 |
| Algeria | 9.8 | 9.8 | 2003 | 722.8 | 1991 | none | 461 |
| Madagascar | 8.9 | 8.9 | 2024 | 838.6 | 2000 | 2004 · USD 0.7 m: not stated in the IDS 2015 · USD 88.9 m: not stated in the IDS | 413 |
| Sudan | 7.5 | 7.5 | 2024 | 28.4 | 1991 | none | 29 |
| Somalia | 6.8 | 6.8 | 2024 | 389.7 | 2019 | none | 135 |
| Cabo Verde | 5.8 | 5.8 | 2003 | 14.4 | 1999 | none | 10 |
| São Tomé and Príncipe | 3.4 | 3.4 | 2006 | 18.7 | 1999 | none | 10 |
| Burkina Faso | 2.1 | 2.1 | 2002 | 2.1 | 1999 | none | – |
| Tanzania | 2.1 | 2.1 | 2024 | 498.0 | 1994 | 2011 · USD 20.5 m: not stated in the IDS | 498 |
| Senegal | 1.3 | 1.3 | 1992 | 1.3 | 1991 | none | 5 |
| Chad | 1.2 | 1.2 | 2014 | 1.3 | 2001 | none | 3 |
| Guinea-Bissau | 1.0 | 1.0 | 2023 | 120.4 | 1991 | none | 120 |
| Cameroon | 0.8 | 0.8 | 2001 | 8.4 | 1992 | none | 9 |
| Ghana | 0.7 | 0.7 | 2010 | 9.2 | 1991 | 2000 · USD 0.8 m: not stated in the IDS | 64 |
| Central African Republic | 0.3 | – | 2024 | 2.5 | 1991 | none | 6 |
| DR Congo | 0.2 | 0.2 | 2016 | 1.3 | 2010 | none | – |
| Morocco | 0.1 | – | 2019 | 198.9 | 1998 | 2003 · USD 42.2 m: not stated in the IDS | 28 |
| Tunisia | 0.0 | 0.0 | 2011 | 30.4 | 1991 | none | 34 |
| Equatorial Guinea | 0.0 | 0.0 | 2024 | 0.1 | 2019 | none | – |
| Kenya | – | – | – | – | – | none | 0 |
| Mauritania | – | – | – | – | – | none | 1 |
| Sierra Leone | – | – | – | – | – | none | 2 |
Stocks that end before 2024 are countries that stopped reporting a Russian balance, usually after a write-off: Russia cancelled Soviet-era claims on Ethiopia (USD 5.5 bn, 2005), Algeria (2006), Libya and most of the heavily indebted poor countries. The IDS records a cancellation as the stock going to zero, not as a flow. The Soviet-era column is the peak stock owed to the USSR under counterpart 078.
Energy assets with a Russian role: Global Energy Monitor
Four records in GEM's trackers carry a Russian vendor, owner or parent. Two of them are already on the map, in the power and pipelines layers. The map's power layer takes GEM's Integrated Power Tracker; the Nuclear Power Tracker's August 2026 release adds the reactor model, which is how El Dabaa shows up as Russian at all: GEM books its owner as Egypt's Nuclear Power Plants Authority, and the Russian role is in the model (VVER-1200) and on the wiki page.
GEM's Oil and Gas Extraction Tracker would add the upstream stakes (Lukoil in Ghana, the Republic of the Congo, Egypt and Cameroon; Gazprom in Algeria; Rosneft in Mozambique and Egypt; Tatneft in Libya), but it is released only through a request form, not the open bucket the fetcher reads, so it is not here.
| Asset | Country | What | Russian role | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| El Dabaa nuclear power plant | Egypt | 4 × 1,200 MW VVER-1200, Rosatom (Atomstroyexport) as engineering and construction contractor | Reactor vendor and builder; financed by the USD 25 bn Russian state loan of 2015 GEM's owner field says Nuclear Power Plants Authority 100%; the Russian role is in the model field and the wiki page | Under construction | GEM Global Nuclear Power Tracker 2026-08 |
| Itu nuclear power plant | Nigeria | 2 × 1,200 MW, owner listed as Nigeria Atomic Energy Commission with Rosatom | Rosatom named as co-owner; GEM status shelved | Stalled | GEM Global Nuclear Power Tracker 2026-08 |
| Lurio hydroelectric plant (in the map's power layer) | Mozambique | 120 MW hydro, Electricidade de Moçambique with Inter RAO Export | Inter RAO Export, the Russian state utility's export arm, as co-owner | Approved | GEM Global Integrated Power Tracker 2026-08 |
| Arab Gas Pipeline, Arish–Taba segment (in the map's pipelines layer) | Egypt | Gas pipeline, 10.3 bcm a year, owner Egyptian Natural Gas Holding | Gazprom PJSC listed among the parent shareholders, share not stated | GEM Global Gas Infrastructure Tracker 2025-11 |
Nuclear agreements: World Nuclear Association
The WNA's Emerging nuclear energy countries profile is the one maintained, dated record of Rosatom's African agreements. It is a narrative page, not a dataset, and almost every entry is a memorandum with no money, no site and no date of works. Only Egypt has a contract and a construction site. Read as announced records at country level they are honest; read as investment they are not.
| Country | First | What the WNA records | Where it stands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Algeria | 2007 | Agreement to investigate nuclear power; further agreements in 2014 and 2016 (VVER for hot climates) | no construction; focus moved to non-power uses |
| Nigeria | 2009 | 2009 cooperation agreement including uranium; 2011 agreement; 2012 memorandum; preferred sites Geregu and Itu, two reactors each | Itu shelved per GEM; Geregu announced |
| Ghana | 2012 | 2012 nuclear cooperation agreement; 2015 contractual and legal framework agreement | no construction; GEM lists Nsuban as pre-construction with no vendor |
| Egypt | 2015 | November 2015 contracts for El Dabaa, 4 × 1,200 MW; construction from 2022 | under construction |
| Tunisia | 2015 | June 2015 cooperation agreement; 2016 intergovernmental agreement | no construction |
| Kenya | 2016 | May 2016 agreement on nuclear infrastructure development | no construction |
| Uganda | 2016 | October 2016 framework; June 2017 agreement; August 2023 Russia (with South Korea) selected to build plants, 15 GWe combined | site studies |
| Zambia | 2016 | 2016–2017 agreements; May 2018 contract for a Centre for Nuclear Science and Technology with a 10 MW research reactor | infrastructure development phase |
| Ethiopia | 2017 | 2017 agreement on research centres; 2019 intergovernmental agreement; September 2025 action plan; March 2026 strategic roadmap for two ~1,200 MWe units, 2032–2034 | planning |
| Sudan | 2017 | June 2017 agreement: a science centre with a research reactor and a feasibility study of 1–2 × 600 MWe | halted since the April 2023 war |
| Rwanda | 2018 | December 2018 intergovernmental agreement; July 2026 small-modular-reactor cooperation roadmap | SMR targeted for the early 2030s |
| Burkina Faso | 2023 | Memorandum and roadmap with Rosatom for a nuclear power plant and workforce (Sochi, October 2023) | memorandum only |
| Mali | 2023 | Memorandum with Rosatom towards a nuclear power plant | memorandum only |
| Tanzania | 2025 | Pilot uranium plant at Mkuju River (Uranium One, a Rosatom company) commissioned July 2025; 3,000 tU a year main plant due 2029 | pilot operating |
| Namibia | 2026 | January 2026 discussions with Rosatom | no agreement |
Direct investment stock: Bank of Russia
The central bank's table of outward direct investment positions by partner country is the only official Russian figure per African country. It was last updated in May 2023 and ends at 1 January 2022; the positions that matter, Algeria, Angola, the Republic of the Congo, Libya, Morocco and Mozambique, are suppressed as confidential. What remains is small: Egypt USD 62 m, Mauritius USD 45 m, South Africa USD 33 m. Shown here for the record, and never drawn.
| Partner country | 1 Jan 2014 | 1 Jan 2021 |
|---|---|---|
| Algeria | C | C |
| Angola | C | C |
| Republic of the Congo | C | C |
| DR Congo | 0.00 | C |
| Liberia | C | C |
| Libya | 30.00 | C |
| Morocco | C | C |
| Mozambique | 0.00 | C |
| Seychelles | 30.20 | -211.73 |
| Egypt | 62.22 | 61.58 |
| Mauritius | 5.36 | 45.09 |
| South Africa | 35.92 | 33.33 |
| Mauritania | 0.00 | 3.12 |
| Kenya | 1.04 | 3.06 |
| Tunisia | 0.00 | 1.12 |
| Namibia | 1.10 | 1.10 |
| Tanzania | 0.00 | 0.77 |
| Ghana | 0.00 | 0.65 |
| Ethiopia | 0.00 | 0.60 |
| Zimbabwe | 0.00 | 0.37 |
| Guinea | 0.00 | 0.34 |
| Côte d'Ivoire | 0.00 | 0.31 |
| Sierra Leone | 0.00 | 0.14 |
| South Sudan | 0.00 | 0.11 |
| Nigeria | 0.00 | 0.09 |
| Sudan | 0.00 | 0.08 |
| Madagascar | 0.00 | 0.07 |
| Zambia | 0.00 | 0.06 |
| Cameroon | 0.00 | 0.06 |
| Comoros | – | -0.05 |
| Niger | 0.00 | 0.04 |
| Uganda | 0.00 | -0.04 |
| Lesotho | – | -0.01 |
| Botswana | – | – |
| Cabo Verde | – | – |
| Togo | – | – |
Corporate holdings: press and company statements
The mining and oil stakes that make up most of the Russian private footprint have no open tracker. The list below is what the press and the companies name, with the source beside each line. It is a reading list, not data: several entries are exits rather than investments, and none is drawn on the map unless switched on above.
| Holding | Country | Owner | Status | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rusal bauxite complex (Dian-Dian, CBK Kindia, Friguia refinery) | Guinea | Rusal | Dian-Dian is 42% of Rusal's bauxite capacity | Billionaires.Africa, 2 Jun 2026 | |
| Lefa gold mine | Guinea | Nordgold | 15-year permit to 2034, USD 360 m planned | Mining.com | |
| Bissa and Bouly gold mines; Jilbey Niou deposit | Burkina Faso | Nordgold | Niou licensed April 2025, 85% Jilbey Burkina | Billionaires.Africa, 2 Jun 2026 | |
| Catoca diamond mine, 41% stake | Angola | Alrosa | Sold | Stake divested May 2025 after Angola ended the partnership in 2024 | Billionaires.Africa; IFRI |
| United Manganese of Kalahari, 49% via NAMI | South Africa | Renova | – | Billionaires.Africa, 2 Jun 2026 | |
| Great Dyke Investments, Darwendale platinum | Zimbabwe | Vi Holding, Rostec, VEB | Exited | Vi Holding ceded its 50% to Kuvimba Mining House in 2022; a USD 3 bn project | News24, 6 Jun 2022 |
| Mkuju River uranium project (Mantra Tanzania) | Tanzania | Uranium One (Rosatom) | Under construction | Pilot plant commissioned July 2025; a USD 1 bn project; main plant due 2029 | The Citizen; WNA |
| Diamond exploration licences | Zimbabwe | Alrosa | Exploration | 40 exclusive exploration licences | Bloomberg, 14 Jan 2019 |
| Mossel Bay gas-to-liquids restart | South Africa | Gazprombank | Cancelled | Deal terminated after one year | GIS Reports, 2025 |
| Oil exploration cooperation memorandum | Republic of the Congo | Lukoil (also holds 25% of Marine XII) | Announced | Memorandum with the Ministry of Hydrocarbons, September 2024 | AEC Week, Mar 2025 |
How to read this page
- One record is
- In the debt table, one country and its balance with the Russian Federation by year. In the assets table, one GEM record (a plant or a pipeline segment). In the agreements table, one country's relationship with Rosatom, however many memoranda it spans. In the holdings table, one company stake as a named source describes it.
- Status
- GEM assets use the map's five statuses, mapped as on the map. Rosatom agreements are announced records, whatever a memorandum calls itself; only El Dabaa is under construction. Debt balances have no status: a loan is approved when committed, disbursing while drawn, and then repaid, and the table shows the money rather than a label.
- Money
- Debt figures are the World Bank's, in current US dollars, public and publicly guaranteed debt to creditors in Russia, the state and its banks together, as the debt page counts it; the bilateral official part, the state's own claims, is in the table beside it. They are balances, not project values, and are never added to the map's lenders: a debt stock is what is still owed, a commitment is what was signed, and the two are shown side by side rather than summed. Bank of Russia stocks are USD million, directional principle, as the Bank publishes them.
- Location
- Debt, agreements and holdings are drawn at the country's interior point, the same point the map uses for records it can place no finer than the country. GEM assets sit at GEM's coordinates (exact for El Dabaa and Lurio, approximate for Itu, a route for the pipeline).
- Not here, and why
-
- GEM's Oil and Gas Extraction Tracker, which holds the upstream stakes, is released through a request form only.
- GIGA's greenfield FDI dataset (11,233 projects in Africa 2013–2020 with investor origin) needs a GESIS login and a licence check before any row could be published.
- OECD development-finance statistics hold no Russian records at recipient level: the query for Russia as a provider returns nothing.
- AidData and IATI have no Russian dataset; Russia does not publish to IATI.
- Think-tank reports (IFRI, CSIS, GIS Reports) cite UNCTAD, SIPRI and fDi Markets totals, with no data annex; they put Russia under 1% of foreign direct investment in Africa.
- Sources and licences
-
- World Bank, International Debt Statistics (data.worldbank.org), source 6, series DT.DOD.DPPG.CD, DT.COM.DPPG.CD and DT.DIS.DPPG.CD by counterpart area (all creditors in Russia), with DT.DOD.BLAT.CD (bilateral official) beside them; CC BY 4.0. Release of 3 Dec 2025.
- Global Energy Monitor, Global Nuclear Power Tracker (August 2026), Global Integrated Power Tracker (August 2026) and Global Gas Infrastructure Tracker (November 2025); CC BY 4.0.
- World Nuclear Association, Emerging nuclear energy countries, read 7 October 2026; a hand-kept table of 15 rows.
- Bank of Russia, outward direct investment positions by partner country, table 16e-dir_inv.xlsx, updated 17 May 2023.
- Press and company statements for the corporate holdings, each row linked to its source.
- Download
- Everything on this page, with the full year-by-year balances per country: russia.json. The debt series are re-fetched from the World Bank API with every data refresh; the hand-kept tables live in the fetcher's source and change when a source is re-read.