Data intelligence on geopolitics, infrastructure, development and investmentAfrica.BuildMap.org
Buy me a coffee
Lender profile · Russian Federation

Russia

There is no Russian counterpart to AidData's project-level record of Chinese finance. Russia reports totals, not projects, to the OECD, and nothing to IATI. What is on record is narrower, and this page holds all of it: what each African government owes the Russian Federation, year by year, from the World Bank's debt statistics; the four energy assets in Global Energy Monitor's trackers with a Russian vendor or shareholder; the 15 countries with a Rosatom agreement; and the Bank of Russia's thin table of investment stocks, which blanks out the countries that matter. Everything else is press, and is listed as press.

The sources agree on one picture. Egypt's El Dabaa nuclear plant is almost the whole of Russian official money in Africa this decade: a USD 25 bn state export loan signed in 2015, drawing down since 2019. Soviet-era claims of about USD 15.6 bn in 1991 were written down to USD 0.45 bn by 2011; the stock has climbed back to USD 4.49 bn at the end of 2024, and Egypt owes 91% of it.

World Bank International Debt Statistics to 2024, release of 3 Dec 2025, fetched 14 Oct 2026 · Global Energy Monitor trackers 2026-08 and 2025-11 · World Nuclear Association profile read 7 Oct 2026 · Bank of Russia table updated 17 May 2023

CyprusIndiaPeople's Republic of ChinaIsraelPalestineLebanonSomaliaSyriaSomalilandFranceSouth KoreaNorth KoreaMoroccoWestern SaharaUkraineBelarusOmanUzbekistanKazakhstanTajikistanLithuaniaMongoliaCzech RepublicGermanyEstoniaLatviaNorwaySwedenFinlandLuxembourgUnited Arab EmiratesBelgiumGeorgiaNorth MacedoniaAlbaniaAzerbaijanKosovoTurkeySpainKyrgyzstanArmeniaDenmarkTunisiaRomaniaHungarySlovakiaPolandUnited KingdomGreeceAustriaIraqItalySwitzerlandIranNetherlandsSerbiaCroatiaSloveniaQatarSaudi ArabiaPakistanBulgariaKuwaitAlgeriaAfghanistanMontenegroBosnia and HerzegovinaMoldovaTurkmenistanJordanUnited States of AmericaEgyptYemenMauritaniaTurkish Republic of Northern CyprusUnited Nations Buffer Zone in CyprusSiachen GlacierBaikonurGreenlandJapanRussia
USD 4.49 bnowed to Russian creditors by 12 African governments at the end of 2024, up from USD 574 m in 2014. Egypt owes the most, 91% of it.
34
African governments with debt to Russia or the USSR on record, 1991–2024
USD 4.49 bn
owed to Russian creditors at the end of 2024, Egypt 91% of it
13
new Russian loans since 2000 to 9 countries, USD 26.2 bn, of which El Dabaa USD 25 bn
4 + 15
energy assets with a Russian role in GEM's trackers, and countries with a Rosatom agreement

Where it is on record

Sovereign debt is drawn at each country's interior point, sized by the latest stock owed to Russia; hover for the loans behind it. Energy assets sit at their GEM coordinates in the map's status colours. Nuclear agreements and corporate holdings are country-level only, and the holdings, which rest on press reports, are off until switched on.

Tanzania W. Sahara Dem. Rep. Congo Somalia Kenya Sudan Chad South Africa Lesotho Zimbabwe Botswana Namibia Senegal Mali Mauritania Benin Niger Nigeria Cameroon Togo Ghana Côte d'Ivoire Guinea Guinea-Bissau Liberia Sierra Leone Burkina Faso Central African Rep. Congo Gabon Eq. Guinea Zambia Malawi Mozambique eSwatini Angola Burundi Madagascar Gambia Tunisia Algeria Eritrea Morocco Egypt Libya Ethiopia Djibouti Somaliland Uganda Rwanda S. Sudan

Countries whose last reported balance predates 2020 are drawn at that last figure. The map's own lender filter does not carry Russia: the records here are country-year balances and agreements, not projects, and are kept off the project map on purpose.

Africa's debt stock owed to Russia, 1991–2024

Public and publicly guaranteed debt, current USD, summed over 34 countries. World Bank International Debt Statistics, counterpart “Russian Federation”.

Who owes Russia now

Stock at the latest reported year, USD million. Countries whose last report predates 2020 are marked with the year and drawn lighter.

Sovereign loans: World Bank International Debt Statistics

The IDS publishes every low- and middle-income borrower's external debt by individual creditor, from the borrowers' own reporting to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. The Russian Federation is counterpart 087; the USSR, for claims made before 1992, is 078. For each African country and year it gives the stock owed, new commitments, disbursements and repayments, from 1970 to 2024. It is open (CC BY 4.0), machine-readable through the same World Bank API the map's other fetchers use, and refreshed every December.

What it cannot say is what a loan paid for. The purpose column below is filled only where a public source says so: El Dabaa, Angola's satellite. It also sees only sovereign and sovereign-guaranteed borrowing, so Rusal's mines, Lukoil's blocks and VTB's 2013 loans to Mozambican state companies are invisible here.

Public and publicly guaranteed debt owed by African governments to creditors in the Russian Federation, the government and its banks together (series DPPG, as on the debt page), and, beside it, the part owed to the state itself (bilateral official, series BLAT), USD million, latest reported year; 34 countries. World Bank International Debt Statistics, counterparts 087 and 078 (USSR), release of 3 Dec 2025.
CountryOwed to Russia, latestof which bilateral officialYearPeak stockPeak yearRussian loans since 2000 and what is known of their purposeSoviet-era claim, peak
Egypt4,082.24,082.220244,082.220242015 · USD 25,000.0 m: El Dabaa nuclear plant: a USD 25 bn Russian state export loan covering 85% of the plant's cost (Africa Center for Strategic Studies; GEM)
2019 · USD 85.3 m: not stated in the IDS
406
Ethiopia162.2162.220245,693.61992none5,676
Guinea139.5122.92007429.21991none455
Zambia124.8124.82024442.119982001 · USD 0.7 m: not stated in the IDS
2011 · USD 99.2 m: not stated in the IDS
2018 · USD 322.3 m: not stated in the IDS; Rosatom's contract for Zambia's Centre for Nuclear Science and Technology was signed in May 2018 (SAIIA)
314
Mali114.9114.92008592.11992none415
Uganda85.710.8199285.81991none86
Benin54.954.9199954.91991none55
Mozambique52.052.02024797.419952013 · USD 143.9 m: not stated in the IDS; press reported a 2013 agreement converting Mozambique's USD 144 m debt to Russia into development projects1,079
Republic of the Congo31.931.92024379.41995none376
Nigeria19.919.92005891.81995none856
Burundi16.416.4199416.41991none23
Côte d'Ivoire15.5–202461.420202020 · USD 114.1 m: not stated in the IDS–
Angola12.0–20074,599.019942011 · USD 278.5 m: Angosat-1 communications satellite: USD 278.5 m, 13-year loan from Roseximbank, VEB, VTB and Gazprombank (RussianSpaceWeb; Telecompaper)4,491
Algeria9.89.82003722.81991none461
Madagascar8.98.92024838.620002004 · USD 0.7 m: not stated in the IDS
2015 · USD 88.9 m: not stated in the IDS
413
Sudan7.57.5202428.41991none29
Somalia6.86.82024389.72019none135
Cabo Verde5.85.8200314.41999none10
São Tomé and Príncipe3.43.4200618.71999none10
Burkina Faso2.12.120022.11999none–
Tanzania2.12.12024498.019942011 · USD 20.5 m: not stated in the IDS498
Senegal1.31.319921.31991none5
Chad1.21.220141.32001none3
Guinea-Bissau1.01.02023120.41991none120
Cameroon0.80.820018.41992none9
Ghana0.70.720109.219912000 · USD 0.8 m: not stated in the IDS64
Central African Republic0.3–20242.51991none6
DR Congo0.20.220161.32010none–
Morocco0.1–2019198.919982003 · USD 42.2 m: not stated in the IDS28
Tunisia0.00.0201130.41991none34
Equatorial Guinea0.00.020240.12019none–
Kenya–––––none0
Mauritania–––––none1
Sierra Leone–––––none2

Stocks that end before 2024 are countries that stopped reporting a Russian balance, usually after a write-off: Russia cancelled Soviet-era claims on Ethiopia (USD 5.5 bn, 2005), Algeria (2006), Libya and most of the heavily indebted poor countries. The IDS records a cancellation as the stock going to zero, not as a flow. The Soviet-era column is the peak stock owed to the USSR under counterpart 078.

Energy assets with a Russian role: Global Energy Monitor

Four records in GEM's trackers carry a Russian vendor, owner or parent. Two of them are already on the map, in the power and pipelines layers. The map's power layer takes GEM's Integrated Power Tracker; the Nuclear Power Tracker's August 2026 release adds the reactor model, which is how El Dabaa shows up as Russian at all: GEM books its owner as Egypt's Nuclear Power Plants Authority, and the Russian role is in the model (VVER-1200) and on the wiki page.

GEM's Oil and Gas Extraction Tracker would add the upstream stakes (Lukoil in Ghana, the Republic of the Congo, Egypt and Cameroon; Gazprom in Algeria; Rosneft in Mozambique and Egypt; Tatneft in Libya), but it is released only through a request form, not the open bucket the fetcher reads, so it is not here.

Records in Global Energy Monitor's trackers with a Russian vendor, owner or parent.
AssetCountryWhatRussian roleStatusSource
El Dabaa nuclear power plantEgypt4 × 1,200 MW VVER-1200, Rosatom (Atomstroyexport) as engineering and construction contractorReactor vendor and builder; financed by the USD 25 bn Russian state loan of 2015
GEM's owner field says Nuclear Power Plants Authority 100%; the Russian role is in the model field and the wiki page
Under constructionGEM Global Nuclear Power Tracker 2026-08
Itu nuclear power plantNigeria2 × 1,200 MW, owner listed as Nigeria Atomic Energy Commission with RosatomRosatom named as co-owner; GEM status shelvedStalledGEM Global Nuclear Power Tracker 2026-08
Lurio hydroelectric plant (in the map's power layer)Mozambique120 MW hydro, Electricidade de Moçambique with Inter RAO ExportInter RAO Export, the Russian state utility's export arm, as co-ownerApprovedGEM Global Integrated Power Tracker 2026-08
Arab Gas Pipeline, Arish–Taba segment (in the map's pipelines layer)EgyptGas pipeline, 10.3 bcm a year, owner Egyptian Natural Gas HoldingGazprom PJSC listed among the parent shareholders, share not statedOperatingGEM Global Gas Infrastructure Tracker 2025-11

Nuclear agreements: World Nuclear Association

The WNA's Emerging nuclear energy countries profile is the one maintained, dated record of Rosatom's African agreements. It is a narrative page, not a dataset, and almost every entry is a memorandum with no money, no site and no date of works. Only Egypt has a contract and a construction site. Read as announced records at country level they are honest; read as investment they are not.

Rosatom's African agreements as the World Nuclear Association records them; one row per country.
CountryFirstWhat the WNA recordsWhere it stands
Algeria2007Agreement to investigate nuclear power; further agreements in 2014 and 2016 (VVER for hot climates)no construction; focus moved to non-power uses
Nigeria20092009 cooperation agreement including uranium; 2011 agreement; 2012 memorandum; preferred sites Geregu and Itu, two reactors eachItu shelved per GEM; Geregu announced
Ghana20122012 nuclear cooperation agreement; 2015 contractual and legal framework agreementno construction; GEM lists Nsuban as pre-construction with no vendor
Egypt2015November 2015 contracts for El Dabaa, 4 × 1,200 MW; construction from 2022under construction
Tunisia2015June 2015 cooperation agreement; 2016 intergovernmental agreementno construction
Kenya2016May 2016 agreement on nuclear infrastructure developmentno construction
Uganda2016October 2016 framework; June 2017 agreement; August 2023 Russia (with South Korea) selected to build plants, 15 GWe combinedsite studies
Zambia20162016–2017 agreements; May 2018 contract for a Centre for Nuclear Science and Technology with a 10 MW research reactorinfrastructure development phase
Ethiopia20172017 agreement on research centres; 2019 intergovernmental agreement; September 2025 action plan; March 2026 strategic roadmap for two ~1,200 MWe units, 2032–2034planning
Sudan2017June 2017 agreement: a science centre with a research reactor and a feasibility study of 1–2 × 600 MWehalted since the April 2023 war
Rwanda2018December 2018 intergovernmental agreement; July 2026 small-modular-reactor cooperation roadmapSMR targeted for the early 2030s
Burkina Faso2023Memorandum and roadmap with Rosatom for a nuclear power plant and workforce (Sochi, October 2023)memorandum only
Mali2023Memorandum with Rosatom towards a nuclear power plantmemorandum only
Tanzania2025Pilot uranium plant at Mkuju River (Uranium One, a Rosatom company) commissioned July 2025; 3,000 tU a year main plant due 2029pilot operating
Namibia2026January 2026 discussions with Rosatomno agreement

Direct investment stock: Bank of Russia

The central bank's table of outward direct investment positions by partner country is the only official Russian figure per African country. It was last updated in May 2023 and ends at 1 January 2022; the positions that matter, Algeria, Angola, the Republic of the Congo, Libya, Morocco and Mozambique, are suppressed as confidential. What remains is small: Egypt USD 62 m, Mauritius USD 45 m, South Africa USD 33 m. Shown here for the record, and never drawn.

Russian outward direct investment positions by African partner country, USD million, directional principle. Bank of Russia, table updated 17 May 2023; the series ends at 1 January 2022. C: confidential.
Partner country1 Jan 20141 Jan 2021
AlgeriaCC
AngolaCC
Republic of the CongoCC
DR Congo0.00C
LiberiaCC
Libya30.00C
MoroccoCC
Mozambique0.00C
Seychelles30.20-211.73
Egypt62.2261.58
Mauritius5.3645.09
South Africa35.9233.33
Mauritania0.003.12
Kenya1.043.06
Tunisia0.001.12
Namibia1.101.10
Tanzania0.000.77
Ghana0.000.65
Ethiopia0.000.60
Zimbabwe0.000.37
Guinea0.000.34
Côte d'Ivoire0.000.31
Sierra Leone0.000.14
South Sudan0.000.11
Nigeria0.000.09
Sudan0.000.08
Madagascar0.000.07
Zambia0.000.06
Cameroon0.000.06
Comoros–-0.05
Niger0.000.04
Uganda0.00-0.04
Lesotho–-0.01
Botswana––
Cabo Verde––
Togo––

Corporate holdings: press and company statements

The mining and oil stakes that make up most of the Russian private footprint have no open tracker. The list below is what the press and the companies name, with the source beside each line. It is a reading list, not data: several entries are exits rather than investments, and none is drawn on the map unless switched on above.

Russian corporate holdings in African mining and energy as the press and the companies describe them. Not a dataset; every row carries its source.
HoldingCountryOwnerStatusNoteSource
Rusal bauxite complex (Dian-Dian, CBK Kindia, Friguia refinery)GuineaRusalOperatingDian-Dian is 42% of Rusal's bauxite capacityBillionaires.Africa, 2 Jun 2026
Lefa gold mineGuineaNordgoldOperating15-year permit to 2034, USD 360 m plannedMining.com
Bissa and Bouly gold mines; Jilbey Niou depositBurkina FasoNordgoldOperatingNiou licensed April 2025, 85% Jilbey BurkinaBillionaires.Africa, 2 Jun 2026
Catoca diamond mine, 41% stakeAngolaAlrosaSoldStake divested May 2025 after Angola ended the partnership in 2024Billionaires.Africa; IFRI
United Manganese of Kalahari, 49% via NAMISouth AfricaRenovaOperating–Billionaires.Africa, 2 Jun 2026
Great Dyke Investments, Darwendale platinumZimbabweVi Holding, Rostec, VEBExitedVi Holding ceded its 50% to Kuvimba Mining House in 2022; a USD 3 bn projectNews24, 6 Jun 2022
Mkuju River uranium project (Mantra Tanzania)TanzaniaUranium One (Rosatom)Under constructionPilot plant commissioned July 2025; a USD 1 bn project; main plant due 2029The Citizen; WNA
Diamond exploration licencesZimbabweAlrosaExploration40 exclusive exploration licencesBloomberg, 14 Jan 2019
Mossel Bay gas-to-liquids restartSouth AfricaGazprombankCancelledDeal terminated after one yearGIS Reports, 2025
Oil exploration cooperation memorandumRepublic of the CongoLukoil (also holds 25% of Marine XII)AnnouncedMemorandum with the Ministry of Hydrocarbons, September 2024AEC Week, Mar 2025

How to read this page

One record is
In the debt table, one country and its balance with the Russian Federation by year. In the assets table, one GEM record (a plant or a pipeline segment). In the agreements table, one country's relationship with Rosatom, however many memoranda it spans. In the holdings table, one company stake as a named source describes it.
Status
GEM assets use the map's five statuses, mapped as on the map. Rosatom agreements are announced records, whatever a memorandum calls itself; only El Dabaa is under construction. Debt balances have no status: a loan is approved when committed, disbursing while drawn, and then repaid, and the table shows the money rather than a label.
Money
Debt figures are the World Bank's, in current US dollars, public and publicly guaranteed debt to creditors in Russia, the state and its banks together, as the debt page counts it; the bilateral official part, the state's own claims, is in the table beside it. They are balances, not project values, and are never added to the map's lenders: a debt stock is what is still owed, a commitment is what was signed, and the two are shown side by side rather than summed. Bank of Russia stocks are USD million, directional principle, as the Bank publishes them.
Location
Debt, agreements and holdings are drawn at the country's interior point, the same point the map uses for records it can place no finer than the country. GEM assets sit at GEM's coordinates (exact for El Dabaa and Lurio, approximate for Itu, a route for the pipeline).
Not here, and why
  • GEM's Oil and Gas Extraction Tracker, which holds the upstream stakes, is released through a request form only.
  • GIGA's greenfield FDI dataset (11,233 projects in Africa 2013–2020 with investor origin) needs a GESIS login and a licence check before any row could be published.
  • OECD development-finance statistics hold no Russian records at recipient level: the query for Russia as a provider returns nothing.
  • AidData and IATI have no Russian dataset; Russia does not publish to IATI.
  • Think-tank reports (IFRI, CSIS, GIS Reports) cite UNCTAD, SIPRI and fDi Markets totals, with no data annex; they put Russia under 1% of foreign direct investment in Africa.
Sources and licences
  • World Bank, International Debt Statistics (data.worldbank.org), source 6, series DT.DOD.DPPG.CD, DT.COM.DPPG.CD and DT.DIS.DPPG.CD by counterpart area (all creditors in Russia), with DT.DOD.BLAT.CD (bilateral official) beside them; CC BY 4.0. Release of 3 Dec 2025.
  • Global Energy Monitor, Global Nuclear Power Tracker (August 2026), Global Integrated Power Tracker (August 2026) and Global Gas Infrastructure Tracker (November 2025); CC BY 4.0.
  • World Nuclear Association, Emerging nuclear energy countries, read 7 October 2026; a hand-kept table of 15 rows.
  • Bank of Russia, outward direct investment positions by partner country, table 16e-dir_inv.xlsx, updated 17 May 2023.
  • Press and company statements for the corporate holdings, each row linked to its source.
Download
Everything on this page, with the full year-by-year balances per country: russia.json. The debt series are re-fetched from the World Bank API with every data refresh; the hand-kept tables live in the fetcher's source and change when a source is re-read.